top of page

Decker awarded TASD Teacher of the Year

Tea Area Parent Teacher Organization president, Kristen Daggett,

and the 2015 Teacher of the Year, Ryan Decker

The Tea Area School District’s Teacher of the Year, Ryan Decker, was announced at the K-12 year end awards ceremony on Wednesday, May 13.

This is the second year the award has been available. It is sponsored by the Tea Area Parent Teacher Organization (TAPTO) and facilitated through the District Office.

Decker has worked as a social science teacher at TAHS for eight years and also serves as a coach and advisor.

Decker will receive $2,500 (sponsored by Woods, Fuller, Shultz & Smith P.C.) as part of his award.

Finalists for this year’s award include: Amanda Brinkman, preschool; Wendy Devine, third grade; Sam Millar, fourth grade; Holly Peterson, kindergarten; Beth Rhead, fourth grade; Hallie Ruden, second grade; Christina Snell, kindergarten; and Stephanie Wranek, instrumental music. Each finalist was awarded a $100 prize through the TAPTO organization.

Additional sponsors of this year’s Teacher of the Year award included: Sunshine Foods, Reliabank, United Tent and Convention, Neighborhood Dental, Tea Tots, Parkside Dental, Pyro City and Valley Exchange Bank.

This year’s judges, who reviewed nominations, rated nominees and selected the finalists and the winner, included: Kristen Daggett (board representative), Laura Bialas (TAPTO representative), Lisa Maka (parent representative), Alahna Johnson (business representative) and Jenni White (city representative).

Read more local news in this week's Tea Weekly, sold on stands at the Tea Casey's, Cubby's, Get N Go and Sunshine! Subscribe and get the paper delivered right to your mailbox every Friday!

bottom of page