top of page

Character Counts coalition recognizes students of character

A new character program in South Dakota recognizes “Champions of Character.” The Tea Area school district high school students recognized were Rebecca Burrows, Dana LeVan, Emily Phelps, James Boadwine and Zach Gors. The Sioux Empire Character Counts Coalition, which has been operating since the mid-1990s, launched its Character on Track program this year. Through that program, they awarded Champions of Character to highlight high school students who exhibit outstanding leadership skills, excel in the classroom and exhibit outstanding character in school and in the community. SECC board president Amber Lounsbery said the Character on Track program focuses on trustworthiness, respect, accountability, citizenship and kindness.

Login to read the rest of the story,

bottom of page