top of page

Election Information:

Primary Election Tuesday, June 2

A Primary Election will be held on Tuesday, June 2, 2020 in all the voting precincts in Lincoln County. The election polls will be open from seven a.m. to seven p.m. the day of the election. The polling place in each precinct can be found on page 6 of this week’s newspaper.

To encourage absentee voting in the upcoming elections during these trying times, absentee ballot application forms were mailed to every registered voter in South Dakota. Only registered South Dakota voters are eligible to vote absentee-by-mail. Once a county auditor has received a returned absentee ballot, the voter is recorded in the statewide voter registration list as having submitted a ballot. This prevents a voter from casting an absentee ballot and voting on Election Day.

Tea Area School Board Election Tuesday, June 16

Tea Area School Board will hold an election next month, on Tuesday, June 16 with the polls open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. The polling place for the entire district will be the Tea Area District Education Center, located at 131 N. Poplar Avenue in Tea.

Kristen Daggett and Tara Johanneson are up for re-election; the third candidate on the ballot will be Jason Bennett.

In order to get to know the candidates, Tea Weekly sent questionnaires to each candidate and have requested those to be returned for publication next week.

Tea Area School board is comprised of five members who must reside within the boundaries of the district.

All members are at-large candidates and may reside inside or outside the city limits of Tea. Board members are elected to a three year term on a rotating schedule so that no more than two board members can be replaced in a given year. There is no limit as to how many terms a person may be elected to the board.


bottom of page