top of page

Katie Vasecka among the finalists for Miss Basketball

Hansen Anderson Basketball, Inc., publishers of South Dakota high school basketball previews since 1976, will name the South Dakota prep Miss and Mr. Basketball during its annual awards luncheon at the Ramkota Convention Center in Sioux Falls on Sunday, May 12.

The luncheon is open to the public but tickets must be RSVP’d in advance by e-mail to or calling toll free at 1-800-621-0801. Doors will open at 11 a.m. for lunch with the awards presentation beginning at approximately Noon. 

Eleven women and eleven men, all seniors, were selected as finalists for the prestigious award by a vote of South Dakota high school basketball coaches at the conclusion of the 2023-24 season.

Candidates for Miss Basketball award include: Claire Sheppard – Flandreau High School, Ava Lingemann – Ethan High School, Jaidyn Dunn – Sioux Falls Jefferson High School,Sawyer Stoebner - Mitchell High School, Macy Koupal – Wagner High School, Abby Aslesen – Howard High School, Mahli Abdouch - Bishop O’Gorman High School, Paige Kjerstad – Wall High School, Katie Vasecka - Tea Area High School Lady Titans, Emilee Fox  - Mount Vernon-Plankinton High School and Skyler Volmer – Lyman High School,

Candidates for the Mr. Basketball award include; Alec Squires - Sioux Valley High School, Josh Olthoff – Brandon Valley High School, Tage Ortman - Canistota High School, Kolt Koepsell – Howard High School, Braeden VanBockern  - Harrisburg High School, Nicolas Marshall - White River High School, Jaxson Wingert - Dakota Valley High School, Lane Tietz – Groton High School, Porter Ihnen - Lennox High School, Jackson Schauer - Faith High School and Jacoby Mehrman - Harrisburg High School.


bottom of page