top of page

Tea Area High School Boys Soccer Team State A Runner-up

The Tea Area High School boys’ soccer team clashed with Sioux Falls Christian in an intense State A Championship game held this past Saturday, October 14th, in Brandon.

The early moments of the contest witnessed the Chargers making a powerful statement, finding the back of the net near the 10-minute mark of the first half. This lead was extended as they struck again late in the first half.

Tea Area, however, didn’t let their opponents dominate the scoreboard without a fight. Just over 30 seconds before the close of the first half, Ivan Zamora executed a brilliant header to secure a goal for Tea Area. This marked Zamora’s fourth goal of the season.

The second half unfolded with Sioux Falls Christian extending their lead, registering another goal with 22:01 left on the game clock. A mere seven minutes later, the Chargers struck again, pushing their lead to a commanding 4-1.

Despite the odds stacked against them, the Titans continued to display their determination. With only 1 minute and 29 seconds remaining in the second half, they found their second goal of the contest as Gavin Reiners showcased his prowess by successfully kicking the ball into the net. Time, however, was not on their side.

With just a minute left on the clock, the Titans made a last-ditch effort to add another goal, as they attempted to capitalize on a corner kick. Zamora once again exhibited his aerial skills with a header, but the ball narrowly missed the mark, denying the Titans the opportunity to further close the gap.

In the end, Sioux Falls Christian emerged victorious with a final score of 4-2, securing their fourth consecutive boys’ State title. This marked the fifth time that Tea Area and Sioux Falls Christian have squared off in the Championship match. The history of these encounters now leans slightly in favor of the Chargers, with three victories to their name, while Tea Area has celebrated two triumphs when facing the Chargers.

The 2023 Class A All-State Team was also announced with three Titans earning First Team honors. They included Juv Banza, Ashdan Farrell, and Jon Schlunsen.


bottom of page