top of page

Tea Area School District Teacher of the Year finalists announced: Winner to be named May 13 at District’s Graduation Awards Program

May 6 through May 10 is Teacher Appreciation Week. 

In collaboration with the Tea Area Parent Teacher Organization (TAPTO), the Tea Area School District proudly unveiled the Teacher of the Year finalists for 2024. 

Throughout the month of April, students, parents, community members, and staff submitted nominations for outstanding teachers who demonstrated remarkable dedication to their students’ success, fostered strong relationships with both students and parents, actively engaged in community and district activities, and exhibited a commitment to lifelong learning.

Among the nominees for the 2024 Teacher of the Year were Abby Gullickson, Adam Schorzmann, Andrew Griffin, Brittney Nelson, Carley Shockman, Crystal Groeneweg, Dana Kleinjan, Elizabeth Qualseth, Elyssa Houtsma, Heidi Devlin, Holly Peterson, Jessa Hansen, Kevin Clark, Linzee Christiansen, Samantha Kinder, Sandy Lingren, Stephanie Russett, and Tamera Adkins. Each nominee represented the epitome of excellence in teaching, embodying the values and spirit of the Titan community.

Following careful consideration by a panel of community representatives, four finalists were announced on Tuesday, May 7. Those finalists include:  Kevin Clark, Brittney Nelson, Elyssa Houtsma, and Elizabeth Qualseth.

Zooks provided goodies during the announcement to the finalists. 

The 2024 Teacher of the Year, selected by the community committee, will be awarded during the District’s JK-12 Graduation Awards Program. The program will take place on Monday, May 12 at 1:50 p.m. at the Tea Area High School gym. The event will be live-streamed on the District’s YouTube channel. 

This prestigious accolade would not be possible without the generous support of sponsors like Reliabank, whose $2500 sponsorship contributes to the recognition of excellence in teaching. Additionally, the Tea Area Parent Teacher Organization and its sponsors play a vital role in honoring outstanding educators, including the finalists for Teacher of the Year, the Standards of Excellence Employee of the Year, and the appreciation lunch for all faculty and staff.

The Tea Area School District extends its heartfelt gratitude to the 2024 TAPTO Community Sponsors that include B & G Milky Way, Country Acre Tree Farm, Daggett Trucking, Double H Paving, Get N Go, Glass Doctors, Jay’s Storage, Jer Events, Koele Family Chiropractic, Parkside Dental, Pyro City, Sabers Insurance, Sorlien Electric, Squealers Smoke Shack, and Tea Veterinary Clinic. 

“The community’s support and energy generated by celebrating the amazing people at Tea Area Public School District make this a great place to call home. Thank you for being a part of Titan Pride,” said Tea Area School District Superintendent, Dr. Jennifer Lowery. 


bottom of page