top of page

Titan wrestlers win Watertown TournamentStuntebeck breaks record for most team points scored in car

By Anne Homan

On Saturday, Dec. 3 the Tea Area High School wrestling team got their 2022-23 season underway, going 4-0 at the Marv Sherrill Dual Tournament in Watertown to win the Tournament Championship title.

“The kids came out with a lot of fight and determination this weekend en route to our tournament championship,” said Titan head coach John Niesen. “We’re really proud of the effort from our kids, and are excited to see where the season takes us. We still have a lot to work on, but it was a very promising start!”

The Titans defeated Yankton 72-9, Aberdeen Central 38-30, Milbank 60-23, and Watertown 41-31.

Tyler Woodring (113), Maddix Slykhuis (132), Austin Eimers (152), Sam Werdel (170), and Griffen Schnider (220) all went 4-0 on the day. Senior Wyatt Stuntebeck (145) also started of the year by breaking the record for the most team points scored in his career. His two pins and one forfeit pushed him passed Quincy Hulverson’s record from last season.

The Titans went 37-15 in individual matches at the Watertown Tournament with 24 pins.

Complete results are as follows:

Tea Area (TEAR) 72 vs Yankton (YANK) 9

106: Damian Janish (YANK) over Slater Wilson (TEAR) (Dec 11-4) 113: Tyler Woodring (TEAR) over (YANK) (For.) 120: Hunter Wilson (TEAR) over Devon Coke (YANK) (Fall 1:44) 126: Jackson Tschetter (TEAR) over Dominic Cadena (YANK) (Fall 1:13) 132: Maddix Slykhuis (TEAR) over Dylan Sloan (YANK) (Fall 3:10) 138: Wyatt Stuntebeck (TEAR) over Shayce Platt (YANK) (Fall 2:44) 145: Parker Wilson (TEAR) over (YANK) (For.) 152: Austin Eimers (TEAR) over Chase Howe (YANK) (Fall 2:54) 160: Carson Lohr (TEAR) over Josh Swenson (YANK) (Fall 0:41) 170: Sam Werdel (TEAR) over (YANK) (For.) 182: Gavin Van Emmerik (TEAR) over Shaylor Platt (YANK) (Fall 3:20) 195: Chase DeBoer (TEAR) over Josh Stapish (YANK) (Fall 2:44) 220: Griffen Schnider (TEAR) over Edly Amaro (YANK) (Fall 0:50) 285: Derrick Biel (YANK) over (TEAR) (For.)

Tea Area (TEAR) 38 vs

Aberdeen Central (ABCE) 30

106: Esten Foss (ABCE) over Slater Wilson (TEAR) (Dec 13-8) 113: Tyler Woodring (TEAR) over Will Allen (ABCE) (Fall 2:32) 120: Ridley Waldo (ABCE) over Hunter Wilson (TEAR) (Dec 7-5) 126: Rayden Zens (ABCE) over Jackson Tschetter (TEAR) (Fall 3:15) 132: Maddix Slykhuis (TEAR) over Tate Huff (ABCE) (MD 13-4) 138: Brody Aesoph (ABCE) over Parker Wilson (TEAR) (SV-1 8-7) 145: Mason Schrempp (ABCE) over Wyatt Stuntebeck (TEAR) (Dec 5-3) 152: Austin Eimers (TEAR) over Elias Biegler (ABCE) (MD 9-0) 160: Carson Lohr (TEAR) over Cordell Rychlik (ABCE) (Fall 1:21) 170: Sam Werdel (TEAR) over Logan Opitz (ABCE) (Fall 2:58) 182: Gavin Van Emmerik (TEAR) over Ayden Gisi (ABCE) (Fall 4:21) 195: Samson Flakus (ABCE) over Chase DeBoer (TEAR) (Fall 2:00) 220: Griffen Schnider (TEAR) over Bryce Beitelspacher (ABCE) (Fall 0:45) 285: Jacob Krenz (ABCE) over (TEAR) (For.)

Tea Area (TEAR) 38 vs

Milbank (MILB) 30

106: Owen Fischer (MILB) over Slater Wilson (TEAR) (Fall 0:52) 113: Tyler Woodring (TEAR) over Andrew Folk (MILB) (Fall 1:34) 120: Hunter Wilson (TEAR) over (MILB) (For.) 126: Jackson Tschetter (TEAR) over (MILB) (For.) 132: Maddix Slykhuis (TEAR) over Jayce Jonason (MILB) (Fall 1:29) 138: Parker Wilson (TEAR) over Jacob Johnson (MILB) (Fall 5:42) 145: Wyatt Stuntebeck (TEAR) over (MILB) (For.) 152: Austin Eimers (TEAR) over Nollen Sheeley (MILB) (Fall 3:16) 160: Carson Lohr (TEAR) over (MILB) (For.) 170: Sam Werdel (TEAR) over Tate Schlueter (MILB) (Fall 2:19) 182: Barrett Schneck (MILB) over Gavin Van Emmerik (TEAR) (TF 17-1 1:56) 195: Jesse Schneck (MILB) over Chase DeBoer (TEAR) (Fall 1:36) 220: Griffen Schnider (TEAR) over (MILB) (For.) 285: Landon Novy (MILB) over (TEAR) (For.)

Tea Area (TEAR) 41 vs

Watertown (WATE) 31

106: Gage Lohr (WATE) over Slater Wilson (TEAR) (Fall 0:37) 113: Tyler Woodring (TEAR) over Leo Stroup (WATE) (Fall 0:38) 120: Sloan Johannsen (WATE) over Hunter Wilson (TEAR) (Fall 2:32) 126: Jackson Tschetter (TEAR) over Braden Le (WATE) (Fall 2:15) 132: Maddix Slykhuis (TEAR) over Weston Everson (WATE) (MD 15-6) 138: Parker Wilson (TEAR) over Landen Lewis (WATE) (Fall 0:40) 145: Wyatt Stuntebeck (TEAR) over Nathan Briggs (WATE) (Fall 2:48) 152: Austin Eimers (TEAR) over Markus Pitkin (WATE) (Dec 4-3) 160: Ian Johnson (WATE) over Carson Lohr (TEAR) (Dec 7-4) 170: Sam Werdel (TEAR) over Jax Kettwig (WATE) (MD 15-7) 182: Jackson Maag (WATE) over Gavin Van Emmerik (TEAR) (MD 9-0) 195: Brock Eitreim (WATE) over Chase DeBoer (TEAR) (Fall 1:07) 220: Griffen Schnider (TEAR) over Matthew Peters (WATE) (Fall 2:09) 285: Micah Hach (WATE) over (TEAR) (For.)

The Titans were scheduled to compete in a Triangular at Sioux Falls Roosevelt on Tuesday, Dec. 6 and will compete in the Rapid City Invitational on Friday, Dec. 9.

Bình luận

bottom of page