top of page

Titans begin first-ever sanctioned softball season

In January of 2022, the South Dakota High School Activities Association Board of Directors decided that South Dakota would hold its first-ever softball season in the spring of 2023.

While the weather doesn’t exactly scream spring, the inaugural season of high school softball is underway.

History was made on Monday, Apr. 3 when the Tea Area High School girls’ softball competed in their very first game of the season.

The Titans started the season in fashion, getting the 17-2 victory over Elk Point Jefferson.

Tea Area scored three runs in the fourth, sixth in the fifth, and piled on eight in the sixth to grab the decisive win.

Tea Area’s big sixth inning started with two walks. Emily Froendt was able to then steal third and after a single by Ava Opland, the scoring began for the Titans with Froendt crossing home plate. Nevaeh Berg managed to score on a Jillian Arp single and on the very next play, Skyler Haines hit a line drive single to center field to score both Opland and Morgan Sehr. Emersyn Erck hit a ground ball and reached base on an error while Arp scored for the Titans. Haines managed to score on the next play after a wild pitch. Erck scored following Berg’s single on the next play. Opland hit a ground ball and reached base due to an error, scoring Froendt who reached base earlier due to a walk.

Elk Point Jefferson finally managed the third out of the inning but the damage was done and the Titans were poised for victory.

For the Titans, Berg had two hits in the game and Arp,Haines, Erck, and Opland each had one. Haines and Berg each finished with three RBIs.

Handling pitching duties in the team’s inaugural game were Froendt and Addisyn Hansen. Froendt pitched five innings, allowing five hits and only two runs. She recorded five strike-outs in the game. Hansen pitched one inning and recorded two strike-outs.

Members of the team this season include Addisyn Hansen, Ava Opland, Delainey Burrack, Emersyn Erck, Emily Froendt, Evan Cain, Jaycie Babb, Jillian Arp, Kalli Boom, Kaydance Horsley, Morgan Sehr, Nevaeh Berg, Preslie Benning, Skyler Haines, and Sydney Ganschow.

The Titans are scheduled to face off against Tri-Valley at home on Tuesday, Apr. 11 with a 4 p.m. start time.


bottom of page